free booknotes online

The General Assemblyís chief functions are:

  1. To discuss matters relating to international peace and security.

  2. To promote international cooperation in economic, social, educational, cultural and health fields.

  3. To promote the development and codification of international law.

  4. To promote cooperation in the realization of human rights and fundamental freedoms for all.

  5. To promote friendly relations among nations.

  6. To discuss and make recommendations on any question affecting the powers and functions of any organ of the U.N.O.

  7. To receive and consider reports from Security Council and other organs of the U.N.O.

  8. To consider and approve the budgets of the U.N.O. and itís specialized agencies.

  9. To perform the functions which are concerned with international trusteeship system.

  10. To elect members of the U.N.O., the Security Council, Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council and the International Court of Justice.

  11. To appoint the Secretary General at the recommendation of the Security Council.

  1. The Security Council

  2. The Security Council is the executive body of the U.N.O. It is the most influential organ of the U.N.O. The Council has 15 members. The U.S.A., Russia, England, France and China are the permanent members. Their support is required for every decision. The remaining ten non-permanent members are elected by the General Assembly for two years. At any one time, the ten rotating members must consist of five countries from Africa and Asia, two from Latin America, one from Eastern Europe and two from Western Europe. Each member of the Council has one vote. Each President holds the post for a month.

    The functions and powers of the Security Council are:

    1. To maintain international peace and security.

    2. To investigate any dispute or situation which might lead to international friction.

    3. To recommend methods of adjusting such disputes or terms of settlement.

    4. To formulate plans for the regulation of armaments.
    5. To determine the existence of a threat to peace or acts of aggression and to recommend what action should be taken.

    6. To call on the members to apply economic sanctions and other measures to prevent or stop aggressions.

    7. To take military action against an aggressor.

    8. To recommend the admission of new members.

    9. To exercise the trusteeship functions of the United Nations.

    10. To elect the judges of the International Court of Justice.

    11. To recommend to the General Assembly the appointment of the Secretary General.

  3. The International Court of Justice

  4. It is the chief court of the U.N.O. It has 15 judges that are elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council voting separately. The term of the judges is restricted to nine years and they may be reelected. The seat of the court is at Hague in Netherlands.

    It primarily functions to settle mutual disputes among different nations by peaceful methods. Other agencies of the U.N.O. also approach it for consultation. It may also to resolve disputes among nations, arising on legal questions or treaties.

[next page]


18.0 Introduction
18.1 Regional Organizations
   a. E.E.C
   b. O.P.E.C
   c. S.W.A.P.O
   d. S.A.A.R.C
   e. A.S.E.A.N,
   f. G.A.T.T.
   g. N.A.F.T.A
18.2 International Organizations
   a. N.A.M
   b. The Commonwealth
   c. U.N.O.
18.3 Dates & Events

Chapter 19


All Contents Copyright ©
All rights reserved. Further Distribution Is Strictly Prohibited.

About Us
 | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Home Page
This page was last updated: 5/9/2017 8:56:17 AM