free booknotes online

Help / FAQ

1.5 Summary of the Constitution

The Constitution consisted of a Preamble and seven articles, containing about 4000 words. Though the articles were listed by numbers only, the following topical headings could be assigned to them.

I Legislature

II Executive

III Judiciary

IV Interstate Relations

V Amendments

VI Supremacy clause

VII Ratification

Article I stated that all legislative powers would be vested in a Congress of the United States, which would consist of a Senate and a House of Representatives.

Article II laid down that executive power would be vested in a President of the United States of America.

Article III vested the judicial power of the United State in one Supreme Court, and in such inferior courts as the Congress might from time to time ordain and establish.

Article IV guaranteed to every State in the Union a republican form of government.

Article V set forth the amending process of the Constitution.

Article VI also called the Supremacy Clause, defined the Supreme law of the land as being the Constitution, the laws of the United States and all treaties made under the authority of the United States. Judges in every State would be bound thereby.

Article VII mentioned that the Constitution could be ratified by the approval by conventions of nine of the states.


1.0 - Introduction
1.1 The Continental Congress
1.2 The Articles of Confederation
1.3 The Constitutional Convention
1.4 Key Concepts in the Constitution
1.5 Summary of the Constitution
1.6 The Debate over Ratification
1.7 The Amendment Process
1.8 The Bill of Rights
1.9 Subsequent Amendments (1789-1992)

Chapter 2

All Contents Copyright © All rights reserved.
Further Distribution Is Strictly Prohibited.

282480 PinkMonkey users are on the site and studying right now.